New Member Tournament
January 11, 2020
Baylands Golf Links

The weather cooperated nicely for our annual New Member Tournament. In this event we introduce those who joined the previous year to the club, its members and tournament play. We had a great turnout with 51 players participating, a number that included 16 new members many of whom joined late in the year.

The competition this year included 13 teams playing in a "best two of four" format where we count the two best net scores on each hole.

With the new handicap system in place, the par for certain holes was different depending on whether you played the blue tees or the white tees. Part of the new rules state that holes less that 470 yards must be played as par fours. Holes 1, 3 and 18 all fall under that rule from the white tees thus setting par at 69. Par from the blue and black tees remains at 72.

The team of Adolfo Pina, Kevan Wilson, Samuel Yu and Roger Kalemba recorded an amazing score of 125, five shots better than the two teams that finished tied for second. Each member of the winning team received 50 TOC points along with the 5 points awarded to each person who played in the event. It's a long trip to November when we will crown the club champion based on total points for the year.

John Frykland, Webmaster and also-ran

Place Players Net $$$ Each TOC Pts Each
1st Adolfo Pina Kevan Wilson Samuel Yu Roger Kalemba 125 $50 55
Tie 2nd Douglas Olkein Clayton Halsey Lou Sehl *Blind Draw 130 $35 40
Tie 2nd Jack Simpson Buzz Ogren Don Kristofferson Richard Fikes 130 $35 40
Tie 4th Sarang Kirpekar Rafael Carmona Toscano Ken Arends Jay Zimmer 131 $11 16
Tie 4th Eric Forgaard Adam Fink John Beiers Gordy Cole 131 $11 16
Tie 4th Charles Broussard Joe Ward Jim Schenkel James Ward 131 $11 16

Thanks to Joe Ward for the picture
Complete Standings
Last Updated on 1/12/2020